Credit Union League’s 60th Anniversary Celebrations

Dinner EventThe Dominica Co-operative Societies League Ltd, under the distinguished patronage of His Excellency, the President Charles Savarin and Mrs. Savarin, celebrated their 60th Anniversary with a special dinner and awards ceremony at the St Alphonsus Parish Hall on August 13, 2017. This event is part of a series of events marking this momentous anniversary.

On this historic occasion, the League honoured five (5) stalwarts for their distinguished voluntary service to the credit union movement spanning decades. Awarded were Michael Murphy, Clement Carty, Vernice Belony, Remus Thomas and Richardson Panthier.

His Excellency Charles Savarin presented the awards to the stalwarts of the movement. The Hon. Catherine Daniel, Minister for Social Services, Family and Gender Affairs and who represented the Honorable Prime Minister delivered the featured remarks and focused on the need to preserve the traditional values of the co-operative movement whilst striving for growth and development of the movement. President Alganan Degallerie spoke to the current issues affecting the movement and sought the Minster’s intervention in expediting the process of revisiting the Co- operative Societies Act 2 of 2011 and the salient sub-sections that hinder the ability of the Credit Unions to pay dividend because of the asset/capital ratio clause. The ceremony was chaired by the League’s manager Phoenix Belfield who delivered the welcome remarks.

This year’s theme “Resilience” Developing Pathways to Sustainable Growth & Development through Co-operatives” underscores the need for the credit union movement to innovate while remaining true to its core purpose.

Pages: 1 2 3

Leave A Response »